The Secret Adventures of Charlotte Bronte by Laura Joh Rowland

The Secret Adventures of Charlotte Bronte by Laura Joh Rowland

Charlotte Bronte, the author of Jane Eyre, heads to London with her sister Anne to resolve an important matter: her publisher, George Smith, has falsely accused her of breach of contract and thus Charlotte wants to set the record straight and to clear her name. On the train to London, the sisters meet a mysterious, beautiful girl named Isabel White who behaves strangely and who seems to hide something. Nevertheless, Charlotte finds the girl sympathetic, so when she unintentionally witnesses Isabel’s murder, Charlotte is appalled. Since no one seems to be interested in solving Isabel’s murder, the author is determined to discover why the girl has been killed and to bring the offender to justice. Aided by her sisters and by Isabel’s attractive brother, Gilbert White, the author begins her investigation but soon finds herself entangled in a web full of secrets, lies and intrigue.

Will Charlotte find her way out of this deceptive labyrinth and therefore manage to save her beloved family and country? And what does Isabel’s brother have to hide?

Well, you’ll have to read this enchanting book to find out! I recommend this novel to everyone who loves historical fiction and who loves to read about Victorian England and the famous Bronte family. The Secret Adventures of Charlotte Bronte is a suspenseful detective novel, full of mysteries, intrigue and romance; therefore, readers will find it impossible to put this book down! Laura Joh Rowland has done a fantastic job narrating a captivating story, taking the reader on an unforgettable journey through Victorian England and at the same time drawing a fascinating portrait of the Bronte family. The story is told through Charlotte’s eyes and her narrative voice is very authentic and sensible. Therefore, Laura Joh Rowland has successfully managed to give the narrative a believable profundity, allowing Charlotte to witness the great adventures and romance she never experienced, but fervently desired! Furthermore, the author has created a credible Charlotte whose obstinacy and intellect will remind you of Jane Eyre! All in all, I really liked this detective novel and I think that The Secret Adventures of Charlotte Bronte is a must-read for Bronte fans!

I would like to thank Vida Engstrand from The Overlook Press for sending me a copy of this engaging book!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nymeth
    Sep 30, 2009 @ 15:33:59

    For me, novels that fictionalize literary characters can go either way…some I love, but others are on the disastrous side. I’m glad to hear this one was good! I don’t actually know all that much about the Brontës’ lives to be honest. I should probably start with an actual biography, but I’d love to read this at some point.

    Reply

  2. Serena (Savvy Verse & Wit)
    Oct 01, 2009 @ 17:57:22

    sounds like a good read. I’ll have to check it out.

    Reply

  3. vivienne
    Oct 01, 2009 @ 18:53:23

    It does sound interesting. I have to hold my hands up and admit that I haven’t read anything by any of the Bronte sisters. I should probably start there.

    Reply

  4. Andreea
    Oct 02, 2009 @ 12:52:08

    Nymeth: You’re right, sometimes, these novels aren’t good, but this one is great!

    Serena: Yes, definitely check it out! I hope you will like it!

    Vivienne: Yes, start with Jane Eyre. It’s a great classic!

    Reply

  5. Kayleigh
    Apr 17, 2010 @ 02:25:31

    This book is fantastic. The best that I have ever read. I really recomend it to anyone. Plus there is a sequel coming out soon! Bedlam. And you can buy The Secret Adventures of Charlotte Bronte on Amazon really cheap

    Reply

Leave a comment