The Hollow by Jessica Verday

Abbey and Kristen have been best friends since they were little. They have shared everything with each other – their dreams, their hopes and their enthusiasm for Washington Irving’s legend of Sleepy Hollow. Growing up in the town of Sleepy Hollow, the girls often used to visit the Sleepy Hollow Cemetery and talk about the  mystery surrounding the Headless Horseman and Irving’s classic legend.

But when Kristen vanishes one day at the bridge near the cemetery, Abbey’s life changes radically. Everyone in town assumes that Kristen is dead, but Abbey believes otherwise. That’s why the sixteen-year-old is determined to find out what really happened to her best friend. Abbey is aided in her investigations by a mysterious and attractive young man whom she met at the cemetery. However, Abbey’s new friend seems to have something to hide and when the heroine falls in love with him and finally finds out the truth about him, her world falls apart and she begins to question her own sanity.

The Hollow is the first book in a trilogy and it’s a paranormal romance packed with over 500 pages of suspense, mystery and gothic elements. It’s a sweet love story that will move you, as you will sympathize with Abbey and you will feel her pain, anger, grief and frustration. The sixteen-year-old is a likeable character that has to deal with a lot; she loses her best friend, falls in love for the first time and has troubles understanding her overprotective parents. The novel’s themes are therefore modern and they will appeal to young adults, as they will be able to relate to Abbey’s problems. Furthermore, the paranormal elements will attract Twilight fans as they will want to learn more about Abbey’s boyfriend and how their love story will continue.

All in all, The Hollow was a wonderful and engaging tale that left me longing for more. I can’t wait to read the sequel because I want to be transported back to Sleepy Hollow and to enter a fascinating world of intrigue, mystery and betrayal. I loved to learn about Irving’s legend because I haven’t read it before (but I plan to do so very soon). I also enjoyed all the scenes that were taking place at the cemetery because they gave the novel the right touch and thus, the author conveyed a gloomy and dark atmosphere that fit in with the novel’s themes.

This book is perfect for Gothic fiction fans and for those who like to read paranormal romances. I hope you will get the chance to read The Hollow and I hope that you will enjoy it as much as I did!

Note: I would like to thank Kathryn Mckenna from Simon & Schuster UK for sending me this wonderful novel!

Andreea

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. iliana
    Jul 01, 2010 @ 00:23:07

    This sounds really fun! I hadn’t heard of it either. It’s nice to see you back blogging Andreea and hope all is going well with you.

    Reply

  2. Nymeth
    Jul 01, 2010 @ 07:33:25

    This sounds wonderfully atmospheric! Also, I echo Iliana’s words 🙂 I hope the move went well and that you’re getting settled in nicely!

    Reply

  3. Lua
    Jul 01, 2010 @ 08:33:29

    Yaayy welcome back Andreea! We’ve missed you 🙂 I hope all is well and the moving went smoothly…
    The Hollow sounds like a great read, I love to add a well written gothic fiction to my list!

    Reply

  4. sagustocox
    Jul 01, 2010 @ 13:04:07

    I hadn’t heard of this one…thanks for the review…i like gothic fiction.

    Reply

  5. Sandy
    Jul 01, 2010 @ 21:11:44

    Oh, oh, oh! Gothic stuff! A trilogy! I’m dyin’ here! How on earth can I ever get ahead with reviews like this? But good review…and glad to see you!

    Reply

  6. Kathleen
    Jul 01, 2010 @ 23:44:36

    Welcome back! I hope your move went well. This sounds like a good book too!

    Reply

  7. Andreea
    Jul 02, 2010 @ 09:30:27

    Hey everyone!

    Thanks for stopping by! I miss you all and it really means a lot to me that you haven’t forgotten me.

    We are doing great here in Germany. It’s so good to be home and I am so happy here.

    We still have a lot to do, but we will manage it all in time.

    Emma is doing great now. During the first days, she had some problems with the water and food here, but now she has gotten used to everything and everyone – so she is doing fine.

    I hope you are all healthy and are enjoying the summer. Happy reading to you and I hope to see you soon! Take care!

    Reply

  8. Bethan Stritton
    Jul 02, 2010 @ 20:22:48

    Sounds like a creepy, atmospheric little number. I may just order that as my next summer read. Thanks Andreea!

    Reply

  9. Grad
    Jul 07, 2010 @ 15:46:33

    So happy to see you’re back. This sounds like a great read. I’m putting on the list I always carry with me to the library. I’ll have to look for it when I’m browsing the stacks. Happy your move went well. There’s no place like home – where ever that is.

    Reply

  10. Alice Teh
    Jul 11, 2010 @ 16:23:42

    Thanks for the review! This sounds good!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

