Folly by Marthe Jocelyn

Mary Finn is a fourteen-year-old country girl who finds work as a scullery maid in Victorian London. She has always been a girl of common sense, very helpful and skilful, until Caden Tucker enters her life. Mary immediately falls for the handsome soldier and their passion for each other leads to Mary’s downfall.

Intertwined with Mary’s tale is the story of James Nelligan, who is a remarkable and clever foundling. At the age of six, the boy is taken from his foster family and brought to a foundling hospital in London. As the story unfolds, the reader will be surprised to find out that their stories are connected.

Ever since I read Charlotte Bronte’s Jane Eyre, I have developed a passion for the Victorian Era and I tend to read every book that is set in that period. Thus, when I first heard of Folly I knew I had to read it, since the synopsis piqued my interest. I was eager to read this book because I knew I would love it. And I am so glad that I had the chance to read this novel because it was wonderful in every way.

Folly was a gripping tale that left me longing for more, as it was full of romance, passion and jealousy.  I enjoyed every single page of this captivating book and I was desperate to find out how it would end. But as it happens with all the books I love, I was sad when I finished reading it because I wanted to learn more about Mary, James, Caden and Oliver. I could not help but feel moved by James and his tragic tale and I felt sad when I read about his days at the foundling hospital. It was touching to read about all these children who didn’t know where they came from and who their parents were. I also enjoyed reading about Mary and I sympathized with her and her awkward situation. But what I liked most about this book was the fact that Marthe Jocelyn has done such a wonderful job reviving the streets of Victorian London with her vivid descriptions, her authentic language, and her attention to detail. I just felt that this book was refreshing and different from anything that I have read lately. Folly stood out and impressed me with every single page. And the reason why this book is so striking is because Folly was inspired by Jocelyn’s family history. The author knew that her grandfather was an orphan, but she was shocked to learn the true story of his birth. Although he was raised in a foundling hospital in London, his parents had been very much alive. It was his own mother who brought him there, but Marthe Jocelyn wasn’t able to learn why her grandfather was left there by his mother. Moved by this discovery, the author was inspired to write Folly. And I am so glad that she did because it was an incredible and realistic novel that will linger in my mind for a long time! I am looking forward to reading other books by this talented author and I would recommend Folly to everyone who is interested in the Victorian Period and to those who like to read a fascinating and suspenseful tale!

I would like to thank the author and her publicist Casey Lloyd from Random House for sending me a copy of this engaging book!

Andreea

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lua
    May 21, 2010 @ 19:14:30

    I really love it when two stories which seem very disconnected somehow touch each other at teh end of the book; it makes me feel like we’re all connected, we’re all a part of this one big story!
    Sounds like a very interesting story Andreea and just like you, I have a passion for book which takes place in the Victorian era.
    “full of romance, passion and jealousy.” Just the kind of book I’d love to read 🙂

    Reply

  2. vivienne
    May 22, 2010 @ 11:35:23

    It oes sound like a brilliant book. I will add it to my list. Fantastic review Andreea.

    Reply

  3. Sandy
    May 22, 2010 @ 12:02:21

    The cover is just breath-taking! Everything about this book is appealing. Thanks for reviewing it and adding to my ever-growing list of wants!

    Reply

  4. bermudaonion
    May 22, 2010 @ 16:58:14

    The book and the reason the author wrote it both sounds fascinating! Thanks for a great review!

    Reply

  5. Marthe Jocelyn
    May 23, 2010 @ 10:57:45

    Thanks for such a full review, Andreea!
    I’m so glad you liked the book.

    Reply

  6. Melody
    May 24, 2010 @ 03:03:19

    Sounds good to me! And the cover is simply outstanding! I’ll have to check out this book. Thanks for the review, Andreea!

    Reply

  7. Aarti
    May 24, 2010 @ 16:38:19

    Wow, this sounds like a great book! The cover kind of creeps me out, I admit. I’ve never heard of this one before, and while I prefer the Regency era to the Victorian one, it sounds like the plot is pretty great!

    Reply

  8. Kathleen
    May 25, 2010 @ 19:15:47

    This sounds like one I would like to read. And the cover is so striking!

    Reply

  9. Alice Teh
    May 29, 2010 @ 05:54:02

    I would surely like to read this, Andreea. Thanks for the review!

    Reply

  10. Trackback: How It Happened in Peach Hill by Marthe Jocelyn « Passionate Booklover

Leave a Reply

