Reading Recommendations & Some Pictures

I don’t know about you, but as a book lover, I am always eager to read books that revolve around books. I just love to read a story that takes place in a bookshop, a library, a publishing house or to read just a story about a writer or a book lover. These books are very dear to me and they belong to my favorite reads. Unfortunately, I haven’t read too many of these books, as I didn’t found ones that I liked. I only read the following:

The Angel’s Game by Carlos Ruiz Zafon

The Secret of Lost Things by Sheridan Hay

The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield

Matilda by Roald Dahl

Ex-Libris by Ross King (which I didn’t like)

That’s why I wanted to ask you if you know of similar books that I might enjoy. I know I already have too many books on my wish list (about 200), but I just can’t resist to add more. I am looking for fiction books, because I have already found many non-fiction books. So if you have read or heard about books that centre on libraries, book stores, publishing companies or books that deal with book lovers and writers, then please feel free to share these books with me!

I already found some ‘books about books’ while I was searching the internet and this is what I discovered:

Writing Jane Austen by Elizabeth Aston

The Haunted Bookshop by Christopher Morley

Blind Submission by Debra Ginsberg

The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon

84 Charing Cross Road by Helene Hanff

Daphne by Justine Picardie (which I own and will read soon)

However, I am sure that there are many others out there that I missed, so please do let me know what else I should add to my list.

Thank you!

P.S. I wanted to apologize to you for not being able to visit your blogs as often as I used to. But my little Emma doesn’t like to sleep during the day. She used to sleep longer in the past, but now I can forget about it. She is very active and always wants to touch things and explore everything. I am physically exhausted because I have no help. I am with her 24/7 and the only ‘me’ time I have during the day is when she sleeps for 30 minutes. And then I like to read because it’s the only way for me to relax. I wish I had more time for your blogs, but I just can’t manage it. I am glad that I can at least manage to write and post my reviews. I wish I could comment more on your blogs and read all the posts, but I can’t always find the time to do so. Therefore, I am really sorry and I hope you understand. I also wanted to thank you for the fact that you come and visit my blog so often, even if I can’t do the same. You have no idea how much it means to me. So thank you very much!

And now, I’ll leave you with a few pictures of Emma. (The pictures are older; she was 4-5 months old. Now she is 6 months old):

 

 

 

 

 

Andreea

ETA: I forgot to say that I also like books that revolve around universities or Literature students (because they often contain literary references and because I am a Literature student myself). And I also wanted to add some books that I discovered through book blogging and that I forgot to mention yesterday:

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows

The Last Dickens by Matthew Pearl

The Forgotten Garden by Kate Morton

Possession by A.S. Byatt

Chasing Shakespeares by Sarah Smith

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

Gaudy Night by Dorothy L. Sayers

The Secret History by Donna Tartt

Interred with Their Bones by Jennifer Lee Carrell

The Book of Air and Shadows by Michael Gruber

The Club Dumas by Arturo Perez-Reverte

The Broken Teaglass by Emily Arsenault

I just thought I would share!

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bermudaonion
    May 15, 2010 @ 17:11:45

    Emma is gorgeous! Another book you might like is On Folly Beach by Karen White – it has a bookstore and some literary references in it.

    Reply

  2. Andreea
    May 15, 2010 @ 17:36:23

    Thank you! I just checked out ‘Folly Beach’ and added it to my wish list. It sounds like a great book. Thanks for mentioning it!

    Reply

  3. Hannah
    May 16, 2010 @ 01:44:44

    What a sweet little girl! I am a mom to a very active 4 y.o. boy and I can understand how busy she keeps you.

    I have two books about books to add to your list–The Wild Marquis by Miranda Neville (historical romance that has a lot more to do with books than the cover suggests) and A Twist in Time by Susan Squires, a time travel romance where the heroine has a book by Leonardo da Vinci.

    I loved the Shadow of the Wind and The Thirteenth Tale. I wish I could find more modern novels that were like those.

    Reply

  4. Jenny
    May 16, 2010 @ 02:22:02

    of course now that I’m trying to think of it I can’t think of any books… I’ll come back if I do.

    But did just want to stop to say that Emma is so adorable!!!!

    Reply

  5. Lua
    May 16, 2010 @ 07:24:06

    Oh Gosh Andreaa, Emma is gorgeous! She’s so precious and she looks like such a happy baby girl- all smiles! 🙂 Thank you for sharing her photos with us!

    I LOVE reading books which revolves around books- The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield and Matilda by Roald Dahl are some of my all-time favorites! I don’t know if I have any books to suggest off to top of my head but I’ll make sure to do some research and get back to you. (Meanwhile I will steal some ideas from your amazing list) 🙂

    Reply

  6. Nymeth
    May 16, 2010 @ 09:54:45

    Aw, Emma is so adorable! And don’t feel bad for not being able to comment as much, Andreea! We understand.

    As for books about books: first, I should warn you that 84 Charing Cross Road is actually non-fiction – I didn’t know either until I picked it up. Having said that, it totally reads like a novel.

    Though I’ve yet to read it myself, I’ve heard wonders about The Bookshop by Penelope Fitzgerald. Cornelia Funke’s Inkheart is the first in a fantasy series about book characters coming to life -I confess I didn’t love it, but I seem to be in the minority. What else… oh, The Neverending Story – it’s a classic for a reason!

    Reply

  7. uncertainprinciples
    May 16, 2010 @ 11:45:44

    Emma’s adorable! Looks so happy 🙂

    I was disappointed by Angel’s Game, but loved Shadow of the Wind.

    The Book of Lost Things has loads of references to fairy tales, if that’s your kind of thing.

    The Getting of Wisdom mentions a few books in passing as well.

    I’ve not read many on your list, but am going to add them to my TBR as, like you, love reading books about books as well (or where books play a prominent role).

    Reply

  8. Alice Teh
    May 16, 2010 @ 13:35:01

    Emma is such a pretty baby! Thanks for sharing those precious pictures with us, Andreea!

    I have The Angel’s Game in my pile. Hope to read it soon.

    Reply

  9. Sandy
    May 16, 2010 @ 17:06:18

    I love books about books! You have a great list there. There is a crime thriller series out there written by Lawrence Block, all with “burglar” in the title. They all revolve around a guy who owns an antique bookstore by day, and is a burglar that burgles from bad guys at night. They are so much fun. On Folly Beach is also a good one.

    Emma is so beautiful and so feminine! Don’t worry too much about blogging right now. These days will pass by so fast, before long she will be 12 and sassy, like my Emma. Just make sure you make time for yourself now and again, even if it is just a nice long bath at night once your husband gets home. You have to do that to keep your sanity!

    Reply

  10. Kristen M.
    May 16, 2010 @ 18:15:15

    What a beautiful girl you have! I’ve been busy as well and feel guilty about not keeping up in the community but I think everyone goes through those sorts of times. Don’t worry about it! You probably won’t have much time to yourself again until she is about three. 🙂

    Reply

  11. Melody
    May 17, 2010 @ 01:43:05

    No need to apologise, Andreea! We totally understand! 🙂
    Emma is a beautiful girl! Thanks so much for sharing the pics with us. 😀

    Reply

  12. Andreea
    May 17, 2010 @ 09:18:34

    Hannah: Thanks. Yes, then you know what I am going through right now:) Thanks for mentioning the books. I added them to my list!

    Jenny: Oh, thanks. That’s sweet of you!

    Lua: Thank you so much! Yes, she is very happy indeed. She always smiles and jumps and tries to talk:) Yes, Matilda and The Thirteenth Tale are also my favorite books.

    Nymeth: Thanks for your understanding! As to the books, I didn’t know that about 84 Charing Cross Road but I still want to read it.

    Thanks for mentioning The Bookshop as it sounds like the perfect read for me. As to the others you’ve mentioned – I have seen the movies but have yet to read the books!

    Uncertainprinciples: Thanks! Hmm, I loved The Angel’s Game but I am sad that I didn’t read The Shadow of the Wind first. But I didn’t know about it when I bought The Angel’s Game.

    Thanks for mentioning the two books. I will add them to my list.

    Alice: Thanks so much! I hope you’ll like The Angel’s Game as much as I did.

    Sandy: Thanks for mentioning the series. I love crime thrillers, as I am a fan of Detective Fiction. I shall check it out!

    As to Emma – I really hope that she will be like your ‘big’ Emma, as from what you’ve told us about her, she sounds like a great and intelligent daughter! And you are right about the little things like taking a bath; it does make a difference and if I didn’t have these little moments to myself, I would certainly go insane!

    Kristen: Three? Oh well, I can’t wait until she reaches that age:) I certainly need some time for myself, like a whole week or something, but I am afraid that’s not possible at the moment!

    Melody: Thanks so much for your understanding and for your kind words!

    Reply

  13. vivienne
    May 17, 2010 @ 12:26:32

    Andreea, Emma is absolutely gorgeous and we really don’t mind her being your priority. You are very lucky to have such a beautiful little girl to watch grow and learn. I am impressed with how much you manage to actually do, I wouldn’t have been able to fit anything in when the girls were little, so you are obviously very organised.

    I can’t think of any other books that fill your criteria. However I did want to say how wonderful 84 Charing Cross Road is, as well as the Inkheart series by Cornelia Funke.

    Reply

  14. 83October
    May 17, 2010 @ 15:40:42

    I was suppose to say Book Thief until I saw your other list. Have you read Jostein Gardner’s Sophie’s World (its sort of a book within a book thing). The said author loves to do that in his novels. I can’t seem to come up with any other book titles at the moment. But I shall return in case I remember anything.

    Reply

  15. iliana
    May 17, 2010 @ 21:46:47

    Emma is just beautiful! Don’t worry about not having time for the blogosphere. I love visiting here and reading your reviews. I think it’s great that you still find time to read and post reviews with a little one.

    Books about books… I second Nymeth’s suggestion of The Bookshop by Penelope Fitzgerald. Such a great book. Also non-fiction but very wonderful is Nick Hornby’s collection of essays, The Polysyllabic Spree.

    Reply

  16. Kathleen
    May 19, 2010 @ 00:36:44

    Your daughter is beautiful! The first few years are pretty tough from a free time perspective. I remember thinking I might never have time to read again but like you I found the time when I could. I love the post about books that feature books. I’m going to check out some from your list. Of course Mathilda is one of my favorites already!

    Reply

  17. Trackback: On Folly Beach by Karen White « Passionate Booklover

Leave a Reply

