Matilda by Roald Dahl

Matilda Wormwood is no ordinary girl – at the age of three she taught herself to read. Since then, she has been devouring books just as other children devour candy. Books fascinate the little girl since she delights in discovering new worlds and meeting new and amazing characters. However, her parents don’t seem to appreciate Matilda’s vocation as they are too preoccupied with watching TV and scamming other people. Thus, when the little girl finally attends school, she is happy to have found a friend in her kind teacher, Miss Honey, who immediately recognizes that Matilda is a special child. But when Miss Honey tries to speak to the headmistress regarding Matilda’s outstanding learning abilities, the cruel and frightening Miss Trunchbull doesn’t believe Miss Honey, since she despises children. As Matilda discovers that she possesses even greater abilities, the little girl is determined to use her extraordinary tricks in order to defend the helpless and to fight for justice.

Matilda is such a wonderful and delightful book about a young girl with amazing abilities and a great sense of justice. This lovely book is packed with charm, intelligence, warmth and magic and I loved everything about it as Matilda delivers some very important messages to everyone out there! Matilda is a brave young girl who is ready to fight for justice at all cost; she is not afraid of anyone and is willing to do everything in order to help those who are weak and who cannot stand up for themselves. That just shows how great this little girl is and others really can learn a lot from her. I loved Matilda’s courage, her enthusiasm for books and her drive for knowledge and I think that she sets a perfect example for other children.

I must admit that I have watched the movie Matilda quite a few times without even knowing that the book existed. But when I checked out Roald Dahl’s books, I discovered Matilda and I was eager to read it, as I love the movie. And I am so glad that I had the opportunity to read this beautiful book, as I think that it’s even better than the movie. Matilda is now one of my favorite books and I can’t wait for my daughter to grow up so we can read this book together.

When I finished reading this book, I was very sad, as I wanted to read more about this little girl and her adventures. Actually, I was so sad that I had to hug this book a few times! Luckily, Roald Dahl has written many books, and I plan to read some of them in the future.

Matilda is a charming story about friendship, courage and justice, and I highly recommend it to everyone book lover out there and to everyone who wants to read a book with a positive and conscious theme.

Note: I would like to thank Puffin Books for giving me the opportunity to read such an amazing book!

Andreea

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Aarti
    May 10, 2010 @ 23:44:30

    I loved this book growing up! I like the cover on this edition, too- it’s so fun and colorful.

    Reply

  2. Nymeth
    May 11, 2010 @ 07:20:22

    I love this book too 😀 It’s very hard to go wrong with Dahl – you have some excellent reading ahead of you, Andreea!

    Reply

  3. vivienne
    May 11, 2010 @ 10:39:33

    How weird! My girls were watching Matilda this morning as they are both home poorly. Also I have just reviewed James and the Giant Peach by Roald Dahl today. Great minds think alike.

    Reply

  4. Lua
    May 11, 2010 @ 11:21:37

    Matilda is my favorite Roald Dahl book 🙂 I don’t know how many times I read it when I was a child and I would keep telling our English teacher at the school to stop making us read Charlie and the Chocolate factory and let us read Matilda!!! Thanks again for the great review Andreea, you just reminded me that I have to go visit an old friend. 🙂

    Reply

  5. bermudaonion
    May 11, 2010 @ 15:11:55

    I haven’t read this in years, but I love it too!

    Reply

  6. Shelley
    May 11, 2010 @ 18:03:33

    I have heard elementary school students, sadly, talk about trying to talk with parents who were “busy watching TV.”

    Oxymoron.

    Reply

  7. Helen (She Reads Novels)
    May 11, 2010 @ 18:18:45

    I was a big Roald Dahl fan when I was younger and this was one of my favourites. Thanks for bringing back some great memories.

    Reply

  8. Kathleen
    May 11, 2010 @ 20:25:42

    I adore this book and the movie! I can’t resist the story of a little girl who reads and reads and reads!

    Reply

  9. Jo
    May 12, 2010 @ 22:04:19

    This was probably my favourite Dahl. And the first I read to my daughter! Time to dig out the rest I think!

    Reply

  10. Alice Teh
    May 16, 2010 @ 13:37:11

    Matilda is one of my favorite Roald Dahl books. I read it for my RD marathon. 😀

    Reply

  11. KC
    Jun 16, 2010 @ 11:08:22

    Very good book,I love it very much,and also the other books written by Roald Dahl!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

