The Girl Who Chased the Moon by Sarah Addison Allen

After her mother’s sudden death, Emily is forced to move to Mullaby, North Carolina in order to live with her grandfather, whom she never met before. But when the seventeen-year-old arrives in Mullaby, she is surprised to find out that she’s already the talk of town. The residents act strangely around Emily, because they suspect her to be just like her mother Dulcie. However, Emily doesn’t understand why that would be such a bad thing, after all, her mother was a kind and selfless person. But then, Emily doesn’t really know anything about her mother’s past, since Dulcie has always been so secretive about it. Since her grandfather, a real-life giant, doesn’t want to talk about Dulcie’s past, Emily is determined to learn more about her mother from the residents. But even her new acquaintance Julia won’t tell Emily more about Dulcie, and the heroine becomes more and more suspicious. However, as the story evolves, the seventeen-year-old girl makes some shocking discoveries concerning her mother’s past. What secrets did Dulcie hide from her daughter and why did she never return to Mullaby? Also, why is Emily’s new friend Julia always baking cakes? Does she bake them for someone special? Since everyone in Mullaby seems to behave strangely, Emily feels out of place there. Odd things seem to happen in this small Southern town and the young girl doesn’t know what to believe. From wallpaper that changes to suit your mood and mysterious lights that appear at midnight, to a family who never goes out after dark, Mullaby is a place surrounded by magic and many secrets. When Emily’s questions are answered in the end, the readers will find that nothing is quite as they would have expected, as is the case with all of Sarah Addison Allen’s books.

The Girl Who Chased the Moon is such a fantastic book about forgiveness, lost love, consequences and the haunting shadows of the past. It’s a delightful story about two women who try to find their place in the world and who, in the end, learn that they shouldn’t let the past define them. I loved everything about this book, as it had all the right elements for me – it was magical, charming, engaging, and full of secrets and surprises. Furthermore, I loved all the characters as they draw you in and you begin to sympathize with them from the beginning. I also loved Sarah Addison Allen’s beautiful writing and her vivid descriptions of Mullaby. But what I probably loved most about her book was the fact that it had all these magical elements in it. I must admit that I normally like to read books set in the past, preferably in England as I like to learn more about forgotten times. However, when I heard of this book, I knew I had to read it because it sounded so good. And I am so glad that it was everything I expected and even more! The only negative thing I have to say about The Girl Who Chased the Moon is that it was too short. Why is it that whenever I love a book it happens to be too short? I wanted to learn more about Mullaby and its residents, I wanted to be surrounded by more magic and charm and thus, I was sad when I finished this book. I read it really fast and after I finished reading it, I realized that I should have taken my time with it. But luckily, Sarah Addison Allen will write more books, and I plan to read them all in the future (I only read Garden Spells a few years ago).

I highly recommend this book to everyone out there who likes Magical Realism and to those who like to read a wonderful novel that is full of suspense, mysteries and Southern charm!

Other reviews:

Peeking Between The Pages

Note: I would like to thank The Bantam Dell Publishing Group for sending me a copy of this lovely book!

Andreea

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Claire (The Captive Reader)
    May 02, 2010 @ 19:09:22

    This sounds absolutely wonderful. I’m still looking for books to read for the Once Upon a Time Challenge and this seems perfect for it!

    Reply

  2. Sandy
    May 02, 2010 @ 21:46:34

    I was wondering why the author sounded familiar, but then remembered I have Garden Spells on audio waiting to be listened to! The whole idea of this book (and the beautiful cover) definitely caught my attention. There is something very alluring about books set in the south…lots of atmosphere. Great review!

    Reply

  3. iliana
    May 02, 2010 @ 23:07:44

    I don’t know why but I kept thinking this was a continuation of Garden Spells. I read that one a while back and did enjoy it so I’ll have to remember this one!

    Reply

  4. Jenny
    May 03, 2010 @ 02:39:19

    Ooh! I just added this to my TBR a few days ago. I didn’t love Garden Spells as much as everyone else seemed to so I’ve been a little hesitant to dive into this one, but I think I will soon!

    Reply

  5. Melody
    May 03, 2010 @ 03:55:21

    I loved Garden Spells, but have not got around to reading this yet. I’ve it in my TBR pile though so it’s a matter of time! 😉

    Reply

  6. Lua
    May 03, 2010 @ 07:26:07

    Sounds like an amazing book Andreea, I love reading stories about discovering the secrets of the past and about forgiving! I’m a huge magic realism fan so I’ll definitely be adding this one to my ‘to be read’ list! 🙂

    Reply

  7. diane
    May 03, 2010 @ 10:58:19

    I did enjoy this one, as well as her 2 earlier books; great review.

    Reply

  8. Kathleen
    May 03, 2010 @ 21:44:39

    This one sounds wonderful and the cover is so beautiful too!

    Reply

  9. bermudaonion
    May 05, 2010 @ 13:14:13

    This book is number one on my wish list, so hopefully I’ll have it soon. Everything about it sounds appealing to me.

    Reply

  10. Alice Teh
    May 16, 2010 @ 13:36:40

    This book is in my wish list and I have Garden Spells yet to be read. Thanks for the review! I’ve read nothing but good things about this book. 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

