The 1930s Mini – Challenge

When I heard about Nymeth’s 1930s Mini – Challenge, I didn’t know if I could take part, since I didn’t have any books to read for this reading challenge. However, I really wanted to join, since I love books that are set between the wars. I don’t really know when it all started; I just know that I love to read about this specific period, especially when these books are set in England. There’s just something so special about the 1930s (and about Interwar Literature in general) and I find it fascinating to learn more about these years. I have already read a couple of books that are set between the wars and I must say that I really loved them all. High Rising by Angela Thirkell, Miss Buncle’s Book by D.E. Stevenson and The Enchanted April by Elizabeth von Arnim are just a few of them and they are such wonderful, entertaining and lovely books!

That’s why I wanted to read more interwar books and luckily, I finally can, because I received some great books yesterday. Peter Miller from Bloomsbury Publishing has kindly sent me some books that are set between the 1920s and 1950s and I can’t wait to read them all! I wasn’t really expecting to receive so many books and I am really grateful for that! Unfortunately, only one of these books is actually set in the 1930s, thus I can only read that one for Nymeth’s reading challenge. However, I will enjoy reading them all, as they are set in the early 20th century and I love every book that is set in the past. And I think I will also be able to read a Persephone book for this challenge as well, namely, Miss Pettigrew Lives For A Day by Winifred Watson.

But now let’s have a look at the Bloomsbury books:

 

Mrs. Tim of the Regiment by D.E. Stevenson (the author of Miss Buncle’s Book)

Love’s Shadow by Ada Leverson

A Kid for Two Farthings by Wolf Mankowitz

Henrietta’s War by Joyce Dennys

Miss Hargreaves by Frank Baker

The Brontes Went to Woolworths by Rachel Ferguson (which I actually read but not reviewed yet)

Daphne by Justine Picardie (a literary mystery about Daphne du Maurier and the Bronte siblings – I have wanted to read this one since I discovered it last year)

So what about you? Have you read any of these books? (I know Nymeth has)! Also, are you going to join? If you want to learn more about this reading challenge, please click here.
 

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Claire (Paperback Reader)
    Apr 22, 2010 @ 11:23:24

    The Bloomsbury Group books are irresistible, aren’t they?! I greatly enjoyed The Brontes Went to Woolworths and Henrietta’s War.

    Daphne is a great book; I loved it because I am such a huge fan of Rebecca and found the Daphne Du Maurier and Bronte stories intriguing.

    Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day was my first Persephone book and a great choice; will you also be joining in Persephone Reading Week that I am co-hosting (the first week in May)?

    Reply

    • Andreea
      Apr 22, 2010 @ 13:30:37

      Yes, I love these Bloomsbury books. And they have such lovely covers! I am looking forward to reading all these books. Well, since I will read Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day, I can join your reading challenge as well! Thanks for mentioning it! And thanks for stopping by, Claire!

      Reply

  2. bermudaonion
    Apr 22, 2010 @ 13:06:08

    What a nice surprise you got! I haven’t read any of those books. Good luck with the mini-challenge.

    Reply

  3. Nymeth
    Apr 22, 2010 @ 19:55:49

    Seeing all the Bloomsbury Group books together like that makes me want to reach into the picture and grab them!

    Thank you for joining the mini-challenge, Andreea 🙂 It’s a pleasure to have you.

    Reply

  4. Kathleen
    Apr 22, 2010 @ 21:40:15

    Congratulations on receiving the books and have fun with the challenge!

    Reply

  5. Lua
    Apr 22, 2010 @ 22:40:23

    When the word “challenge” comes after the word “book” somehow it sounds more like a fun game rather than facing a difficult barrier.
    I love receiving so many books at once, feels like Christmas, doesn’t it? Have fun reading them 🙂

    Reply

  6. iliana
    Apr 22, 2010 @ 23:37:08

    Isn’t The Enchanted April wonderful? One of my all time favorites. And, you are so in for a treat with Miss Pettigrew! I hope you will enjoy it.

    I had told myself no more challenges but then Nymeth came up with this one. Can’t resist. I’m going to join but still working on some possible book titles.

    Have tons of fun!

    Reply

  7. Melody
    Apr 22, 2010 @ 23:38:26

    Wow, you have a lovely haul there, Andreea! I can’t wait to hear what you’ll think of them! 🙂

    Reply

  8. Claire (The Captive Reader)
    Apr 23, 2010 @ 01:04:45

    I’ve slowly been gathering the Bloomsbury Group books: I’ve won copies of Miss Hargreaves and A Kid for Two Farthings and purchased Mrs Tim of the Regiment and Henrietta’s War. I’m particularly excited about the last two and have packed them up for the vacation I’m heading off on tomorrow.

    I love books set during the 1930s, but am planning to abstain from the challenge (though I shall eagerly be watching to see what others choose). So many options! Gone with the Wind, all the Harriet Vane/Lord Peter mysteries by Sayers, Out of Africa…actually, I may just have talked myself into participating. Thinking about reading lists is clearly a dangerous passtime!

    Reply

  9. Kristen M.
    Apr 23, 2010 @ 04:51:05

    I’ve been dying to get my hands on those Bloomsbury books! I know it will happen someday …

    And I love this era as well. A few of my recent reads, including the Maisie Dobbs series, have been in the era.

    Reply

  10. vivienne
    Apr 23, 2010 @ 09:10:08

    I am quite envious of all your Bloomsbury books too. I would love to have them all. I really enjoyed The Brontes one.

    Reply

  11. Alice Teh
    Apr 25, 2010 @ 09:29:33

    I haven’t read any of the books you listed here. Good luck with the challenge! Ana is a great book recommender! I absolutely adore her.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

