The Darkly Luminous Fight for Persephone Parker by Leanna Renee Hieber

Some of you may remember that I reviewed The Strangely Beautiful Tale of Miss Percy Parker by Leanna Renee Hieber last year. And you may remember that I loved this book very much because it was beautiful and haunting. I know that I was sad when I finished reading it because I longed for more. Luckily, Percy Parker’s story continues now, as the author has written a sequel, The Darkly Luminous Fight for Persephone Parker. The second book in the Strangely Beautiful saga is just as wonderful as the first one and I loved everything about it! But now let’s have a closer look at this lovely sequel:

In The Darkly Luminous Fight for Persephone Parker, we find Percy Parker united with her true love, Professor Alexi Rychman. After many trials and dangers, Percy has now found someone who appreciates her for who she really is and the mysterious girl finally feels accepted and loved. Furthermore, the heroine has also made new friends, the members of The Guard. Percy’s friends stand by her side no matter what nightmares might come and together, they are ready to face the forces of evil that want to overrun Victorian London. However, Percy needs to pay heed, as she will soon have to deal with betrayals, jealousy and revenge. Therefore, our heroine will need to keep faith in order to fulfill her duty and her destiny. Will The Guard be able to protect the young girl with snow-white skin and hair from the dangers that await her? And what about Alexi? Is their love strong enough to overcome any obstacle? Torn between duty and love, Percy realizes that she needs to be brave and strong in order to withstand the great storm that will approach. Furthermore, she needs to trust her instincts as well as her beloved Alexi, because she can only succeed and win the battle against evil if he is by her side!

I wish I could tell you more about this book, but I am afraid that I would spoil the story. Thus, I hope that you’ll pick up these novels and read them, as they are both engaging and intriguing. Just as the first book in the Strangely Beautiful saga, The Darkly Luminous Fight for Persephone Parker will draw the reader in from page one and he/she will sympathize with the protagonists and care deeply about them. Leanna Renee Hieber has again created a fascinating tale full of myth and spiritualism with a touch of gothic and mystery and the author has managed to draft a satisfying and believable sequel that will entrance readers once again. This wonderful second novel is packed with suspense, romance, fantasy and the paranormal and readers will delight in Percy’s story, as there are some twists and turns, as well as other surprises to be discovered!

I must say that I loved this book as much as I loved the first one and I was again very sad when I finished reading it. Also, it occurred to me that I normally don’t read series because I haven’t found one that I actually liked. Thus, the Strangely Beautiful saga is the first one that piqued my interest and I was really excited about this sequel. I wanted to find out more about Percy Parker and her destiny and I must say that I am very pleased with The Darkly Luminous Fight for Persephone Parker because I liked everything about it – the lyrical language, the beautiful descriptions, the supernatural elements, the Victorian setting and of course the romance between Percy and Alexi. Everything in this book is depicted so vividly and beautifully and the author has created such a special atmosphere, which is full of charm and magic. I can’t really explain it, but while reading these two books, I felt transported to Victorian London and I could imagine being there, together with Percy and The Guard, witnessing all those mythic creatures and ethereal beings.

The Darkly Luminous Fight for Persephone Parker is an imaginative tale that will appeal to fantasy fans and to everyone who likes to read a fascinating love story set against the backdrop of a dark and mythical Victorian London. For those who want to find out more about the Strangely Beautiful saga (trailers, excerpts and more), please visit the author’s website here.

Note: The Darkly Luminous Fight for Persephone Parker is scheduled for release on the 27th of April.

I would like to thank the author for sending me a signed copy of her wonderful book!

So what about you? Do you read series? What is your favorite one?

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bermudaonion
    Apr 20, 2010 @ 12:19:56

    I love books that draw me in like that. I do read series, but not as much as I used to.

    Reply

    • Andreea
      Apr 21, 2010 @ 13:24:46

      It’s hard to find a series that is good enough, but this one is just wonderful! I also love books that draw you in and take you on a journey!

      Reply

  2. Aarti
    Apr 20, 2010 @ 20:59:45

    I really want to read these books! Mostly because of the titles and the covers. They are great 🙂 Though the titles ARE a mouthful!

    Reply

  3. Sandy
    Apr 21, 2010 @ 11:09:16

    I’m married to a whole bevy of crime series – too many to list. Drives me crazy sometimes, as they are not all created equally. In fact, I think it is rare that a second installment is as good as the first!

    Reply

  4. vivienne
    Apr 21, 2010 @ 12:57:24

    I got the first one for Christmas and hope to read it soon. Didn’t realise a second one had been written too.

    Reply

    • Andreea
      Apr 21, 2010 @ 13:28:22

      Aarti: The covers and titles are wonderful, and so are the books. I hope you’ll read them!

      Sandy: I don’t read crime series. But I think you are right, the second installments are not all as good as the first ones. However, this was not the case here, as I found both very engaging!

      Vivienne: I hope you read it soon, as I think that it’s a book that you’ll like!

      Reply

  5. Nymeth
    Apr 21, 2010 @ 18:25:24

    I’m glad you enjoyed this so much! Sadly when I tried the first book some time ago I couldn’t get into it, but I mean to try again in the future.

    Reply

  6. iliana
    Apr 22, 2010 @ 23:33:10

    I love a good Victorian London setting and this series sounds really unique. I do read a lot of series books – mainly mysteries. I think what appeals to me, if it’s a good series, is that I get to revisit with favorite characters. Granted there are some series that shouldn’t go on that long and I get mad when I get wrapped up in them and feel like I have to continue just because I’ve already invested so much time in them! Luckily that doesn’t happen often.

    Reply

  7. Alice Teh
    Apr 25, 2010 @ 09:28:10

    You’re such a lucky girl for getting a signed copy of the book! This series sounds wonderful and I think I’ll pick it up. Thank you for the review!

    Reply

  8. thewritesound
    Jun 26, 2010 @ 14:36:59

    I’m so excited to read this series now! Ever since I read Libba Bray’s Gemma Doyle series, I’ve been looking for more gothic/victorian romance books. Thank you for the review 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

