Intimations of Austen by Jane Greensmith

Intimations of Austen is a fine collection of nine short stories inspired by Jane Austen’s novels. These follow-ups (and more) will appeal to Austen fans as well as to those who enjoy a romantic and heart-breaking story. Jane Greensmith offers the reader some fascinating what-if stories, sequels and prequels to Jane Austen’s works. These nine stories are little treasures that will delight Austen fans, as Jane Greensmith manages to capture Austen’s voice in an authentic way and to provide realistic insights into characters you will love (or love to hate).

Here’s more about the nine short stories:

Rainbow Around the Moon is inspired by Jane Austen’s Persuasion and it revolves around an admiral, his daughter and his grandchildren.

Three Sisters is inspired by the novels of Jane Austen and it deals with three sisters who all want to marry, but each one wants to marry for different reasons. As their wishes come true, one of them realizes that she hasn’t made the right decision.

The Last Baby is inspired by Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice and it gives the reader a glimpse into Mrs. Bennet and Mr. Bennet’s life and we can witness how both of them try to cope with the fact that they are alone now, with their daughters married and gone.

Bird of Paradise is inspired by Jane Austen’s Mansfield Park and Daphne du Maurier’s Rebecca. This short story centers around Fanny’s marriage to Edmund Bertram and the reader can witness how Fanny struggles with self-doubt and jealousy.

The Color of Love is inspired by Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice and it shows us Mr. Darcy’s point of view regarding his various encounters with Elizabeth. Furthermore, we can witness how Darcy has the ability to see different colors in each person’s handwriting, each color having a special meaning.

Remember That We Are English is inspired by Jane Austen’s Northanger Abbey and it gives the reader an insight into Henry’s thoughts concerning his fear of his father and his love for Catherine.

When Fates Conspire is inspired by Jane Austen’s Persuasion and it tells us how Captain Frederick Wentworth finds out what brought him to Kellynch Hall again and why it is happening.

Heaven Can Wait is inspired by Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice and Sense and Sensibility. This heart-warming story is my favorite one as it revolves around Jane Bennet’s marriage to Charles Bingley. The reader learns that Charles wasn’t the first man Jane ever loved. When she was fifteen, she had a suitor who wrote her poems.

All I Do is inspired by Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice and it’s the longest short story and also one of my favorites. In this enjoyable little tale, Elizabeth and Darcy are not a married. Elizabeth has married someone else and you will delight in finding out why and what will happen to our favorite couple in the course of the story.

Intimations of Austen is a must-read for Austen fans and I am sure that readers will savor every page of this enchanting book. You will long for more and you will look forward to reading other works by Jane Greensmith, as the author has delivered nine creative and unforgettable stories that will linger in your mind for a long time.

I truly enjoyed Intimations of Austen, I was absorbed in Jane Greensmith’s poetic and beautiful writing, and I appreciated the fact that the author remained true to Austen’s characters. Overall, I was very pleased with this adorable little book, and for a while, I forgot everything around me and I was lost in a world full of romance. I just wished that Jane Greensmith’s stories were longer and not so short!

Note: I would like to thank the author for sending me a copy of her charming book!

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Milka
    Mar 14, 2010 @ 18:04:16

    Great review, thanks for pointing this up to me in my blog. This book has interested me for a while now and I am happy that I got to read your review of it. These short stories sound very interesting and it is great that there are stories for example from Mansfield Park and Persuasion. Mansfield Park is my second favorite Austen novel so I can’t wait to get this book into my hands and read that short story along with the others. Luckily I am going to London soon so I can look for this book since I think it will be impossible to find this from Finnish bookstores..

    Reply

    • Andreea
      Mar 15, 2010 @ 12:31:50

      You’re welcome. I know that you love Jane Austen and Austen sequels, so when I read this book, I thought about you:)

      Reply

  2. Nymeth
    Mar 14, 2010 @ 22:01:50

    What a fascinating premise for a book! I’m so glad to hear it was good. I think I’ll save it for after I’ve read more Austen, though.

    Reply

    • Andreea
      Mar 15, 2010 @ 12:33:05

      Yes, it was very good and I am going to re-read it in the future, as these little stories are really romantic and true to Austen.

      Reply

  3. Sandy
    Mar 15, 2010 @ 00:45:35

    Unlike many other books that are wacky spin-offs from Austen, this seems like a tribute. It sounds wonderful!

    Reply

    • Andreea
      Mar 15, 2010 @ 12:34:55

      These days, there are a lot of Austen spin-offs out there, you’re right, and most of them aren’t really good. But I am telling you that this one is different and you will enjoy it. I hope you’ll read it in the future.

      Reply

  4. ds
    Mar 15, 2010 @ 03:30:15

    Interesting premise, indeed. I’m with Sandy, this does seem to be much more of a tribute than most things related to Austen these days.

    Reply

    • Andreea
      Mar 15, 2010 @ 12:36:40

      Yes, it’s a worthy tribute to Austen and everyone will enjoy reading it, because it’s different than most of the follow-ups that are on the market now.

      Reply

  5. jillian
    Mar 15, 2010 @ 05:32:18

    I have an award for you on my blog 🙂

    Reply

  6. vivienne
    Mar 15, 2010 @ 20:03:01

    I love the sound of this book, but I really need to read more Jane Austen first. I don’t think one Jane Austen book is enough to get the full effect of such a wonderful book.

    Reply

    • Andreea
      Mar 16, 2010 @ 13:32:38

      Yes, read more Jane Austen novels, and then you can read this one. Then you’ll really enjoy this book!

      Reply

  7. Alice Teh
    Mar 16, 2010 @ 06:10:33

    Oooh… I didn’t know about this book. Thanks for the review. This sounds very, very good. I’ve read only P&P by Austen. Like Viv, I’d like to read more of her work first before I branch out.

    Reply

    • Andreea
      Mar 16, 2010 @ 13:34:22

      You’re welcome. Yes, as I said to Vivienne, that’s a great idea. Afterwards, you can read this book and you will like it, as it’s a beautiful and lyrical collection of some great stories!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

