Thicker Than Blood by C.J. Darlington

Christy thinks that she has finally managed to bring order into her troubled life, with her new boyfriend and her satisfying career as an antiquarian book buyer. But when issues arise, Christy is forced to face her painful past and she soon learns that she can’t run away from her problems any longer. Tormented by guilt, sorrow and fear, she turns to her younger sister May, whom she abandoned years ago after their parents’ sudden and tragic deaths. But May has to deal with her own pain, namely the pain caused by Christy’s desertion. She just wants to understand why her sister left and why Christy didn’t want to see her all these years. Little does May know that Christy has had a difficult life, full of disappointment and wrong decisions which she truly regrets. Over the years, Christy has tried to drown her sorrows in alcohol and she has tried to deal with guilt by having too many men in her life. Now she is on the run from her violent boyfriend and from her painful past – but she knows that May won’t embrace her with open arms when she turns up at her ranch. However Christy doesn’t know that May isn’t holding any grudge against her beloved sister. She just wants her back and is ready to forgive her, no matter what she has done. In an effort to help her sister cope with her problems, May tells Christy about her love for God. She tells Christy that God loves her, no matter what she has done in the past and that He is ready to forgive her, if she just accepts Him with all of her heart and turns to Him for help. But Christy doesn’t think that she deserves God’s love or anybody’s love as she is still fighting the demons of her past. Will Christy finally find peace and will the two sisters have the chance to get along with each other before it’s too late?

Thicker Than Blood is a beautiful tale of forgiveness, loss, abandonment and guilt. Furthermore, it’s a story about love – God’s unconditionally love for every single person out there, May’s love for God and the love between two sisters. C.J. Darlington has created a realistic story about two siblings who have to manage on their own after the deaths of their parents. Although Christy and May couldn’t be more different, they still have something in common, namely, the love for each other. And isn’t that what matters most in life?

Thicker Than Blood is a Christian novel, but you don’t have to be a Christian to like this story, as this is a great novel that deals with everyday problems and realistic matters that will appeal to everyone out there. I really loved this heartbreaking story and I truly recommend this book to everyone who likes to read a story about love and the power of forgiveness. I also enjoyed reading about Christy’s job as an antiquarian book buyer and I savoured all the wonderful conversations and descriptions regarding the book store and its books!

I would like to thank the author for sending me a copy of her engaging and wonderful book!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. vivienne
    Mar 08, 2010 @ 20:30:23

    I really struggle with the whole concept of Christian Fiction. I know you don’t have to be a Christian, but as a non church goer I wonder if I might be preached at through the words in the book.

    I am glad to hear you enjoyed it and I know it is genre that I need to at least try.

    Reply

    • Andreea
      Mar 09, 2010 @ 10:45:58

      I think you should try this book! It was really a great novel and as I said in my post, it deals with problems that people all over the world have, Christians as Non Christians. I hope you do get to read this book. I would be interested in your opinion.

      Reply

  2. C.J. Darlington
    Mar 08, 2010 @ 21:08:37

    Vivienne… tell you what. I will be happy to send you a free copy of Thicker than Blood with absolutely no obligation. If you decide to read it, you could come back here and let us know what you think. I would love to hear your thoughts on the book as someone who doesn’t read Christian fiction. 🙂 Just e-mail me with your mailing address, if you’re interested. And I really mean there’s absolutely no obligation. cj at cjdarlington dot com

    Reply

  3. Alice Teh
    Mar 09, 2010 @ 01:58:16

    I enjoy Christian fiction and some of them can be really good. This one sure sounds like one of them. Thanks for sharing about this book, Andreea!

    Reply

  4. Nymeth
    Mar 09, 2010 @ 08:57:18

    Sometimes I worry just like Vivienne does, but I know it’s absolutely silly…just because the author incorporates faith into the book it doesn’t mean they’ll try to “convert” those who don’t share it. I need to get over my prejudices, and this sounds like a book to try.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

