My Finds

My wish list is long. It’s actually pretty long – it contains over 110 books! But what can I do about it? When I visit your book blogs, I always end up adding books to my wish list. I also find books on Library Thing and Goodreads. But it’s not my fault! There are just too many books out there that just sound amazing and I want to have them all (I know it’s not possible). I am always interested in finding new and engaging books, and yesterday, while I was browsing through Goodreads, I found some really great books! And I just thought I would share with you. Here are my finds: 

The Secret Life of Emily Dickinson by Jerome Charyn: I love novels about authors, and I am really interested in this one, as it deals with the life of such a talented poet! 

Astrid and Veronika by Linda Olsson: This is a powerful novel about the unusual and strong friendship between two women, set in Sweden. I liked the sound of this story and I have heard good things about this book! 

The Observations by Jane Harris: This is a novel about an Irish maid that arrives at a Scottish estate only to discover that the owners have many disturbing secrets and skeletons in the closet. I like a good story full of dark secrets and hidden pasts. 

Why Shoot a Butler by Georgette Heyer: I have never read any Georgette Heyer books, but this one just sounded great. The book is about an English country – house murder where the butler is the victim. 

The Mystery of the Blue Train by Agatha Christie: Finally, I have found this book while looking for Hercule Poirot mysteries. I haven’t read this one yet, so I really want to, because I just love Agatha Christie’s Poirot novels! 

I’m relatively new to Goodreads and I didn’t know about their swap program. I just found out about it and thus, I purchased some of the above-mentioned books. I can’t wait to read them! 

So what did you find this week?

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. vivienne
    Mar 05, 2010 @ 13:32:03

    I have The Observations, but I still haven’t got around to reading it. So many books, so little time!

    Reply

    • Andreea
      Mar 05, 2010 @ 14:28:45

      Yes, you’re so right. There are so many books out there that I want to read, but so little time to read them all. I’ll probably never get to read all the books that are on my wish list! But I’ll try!

      Reply

  2. Aarti
    Mar 05, 2010 @ 16:56:20

    I also have The Observations and haven’t read it! I have Why Shoot a Butler as well, but haven’t read it- I am slowly going through Heyer’s mysteries and haven’t gotten to that one yet. My next one is Penhallow.

    I like the cover for Astrid and Veronika!

    Reply

    • Andreea
      Mar 06, 2010 @ 11:02:19

      Yes, the cover is beautiful. I am looking forward to hearing your thoughts on these books (if you review them of course)!

      Reply

  3. Kathleen
    Mar 05, 2010 @ 20:53:03

    I have found too many to list this week! I love Goodreads and now keep it open in another window when I am reading the stuff in my Reader so I can put the books I am interested in, into my TBR pile on there. I just read about Georgette Heyer on another blog. She sounds like she was such a strong woman and marched to the beat of her own drummer so to speak. I’d love to read one of her and hope you enjoy the one you have selected.

    Reply

  4. Claire (The Captive Reader)
    Mar 06, 2010 @ 04:04:26

    I’ve read many of Heyer’s Regency novels, but never any of her mysteries. Hope you enjoy! I remember reading about Astrid and Veronika when it was first published and wanting to pick up a copy, but then, inevitably, I forget and never made note of the title – thanks to your post, it’s now firmly back on my TBR list!

    Reply

    • Andreea
      Mar 06, 2010 @ 11:04:51

      Hey Claire! Thanks for stopping by! I hope you enjoy Astrid and Veronika if you get to read it in the future!

      Reply

  5. Alice Teh
    Mar 07, 2010 @ 09:48:29

    Hi Andreea, great finds! I’ve enjoyed THE OBSERVATIONS. 🙂

    Reply

  6. Nymeth
    Mar 07, 2010 @ 11:04:20

    All of those sound seriously good! The Observations has been on my wishlist for a while as well.

    Reply

  7. Melody
    Mar 08, 2010 @ 01:55:44

    I’ve not read any of those books except Linda Olsson’s. Oh, I loved that book! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

