The Strangely Beautiful Tale of Miss Percy Parker by Leanna Renee Hieber

The Strangely Beautiful Tale of Miss Percy Parker by Leanna Renne Hieber

The Strangely Beautiful Tale of Miss Percy Parker is set in the heart of Victorian London, where dark and mysterious things are taking place. Dangerous spirits are haunting this beautiful city and six people have been chosen to safeguard the mortal world from these supernatural terrors. This group, known as The Guard, awaits the fulfillment of the Prophecy, which promises that a last member will join their circle in time and help them fight against the forces of evil.

Nineteen years later, orphan Percy Parker arrives at the Athens Academy in Victorian London. The eighteen-year-old immediately feels out of place at her new school, since she is not like any other girl. Her strange and unique appearance sets her apart from the other students and Percy finds it hard to make friends. The students and professors think that she looks odd and thus, they keep their distance; but if they gave this timid girl a chance, they would find out that she is unique in every way. Percy speaks multiple languages and she has the ability to see ghosts and speak to them. Furthermore, she is often haunted by strange visions. However, Percy does not know why these peculiar things are happening to her. The shy girl yearns for acceptance and wants to be like everybody else, therefore she doesn’t want to tell anyone about her abilities. Percy doesn’t want to draw any unnecessary attention to herself, so she tries to behave like the other students. She tries to focus on school and she is concerned about the fact that she has to attend math classes. She is a bright student, but she isn’t good at math and therefore, she hates it. Maybe her attractive Professor Alexi will be able to change her mind. There’s just something about him that fascinates Percy and she cannot stop thinking about him. What does this mysterious Alexi have to hide? And what do these two unlikely characters have in common?

Vivienne at Serendipity mentioned this refreshing novel and when I read the synopsis, I knew that I had to get my hands on this book!

Thus, I was very happy when I received a copy from Dorchester Publishing and I couldn’t wait to read it! I just loved this compelling novel, since it drew me in from the beginning and it took me on an unforgettable journey through Victorian London!

Leanna Renee Hieber has created a charming and imaginative gothic story that is full of spiritualism, mystery and romance. The Strangely Beautiful Tale of Miss Percy Parker is an engaging novel and I was immediately captivated by the lyrical language, the mythic themes and the well-drawn characters. In the beginning, Percy is described as a shy girl who has no self-confidence, but when she meets Professor Alexi, she gains strength and courage. Alexi, unlike the others, doesn’t feel intimidated by her appearance; he appreciates Percy and becomes aware of the fact that she is a beautiful young girl who is intelligent, kind and special in every way! All in all, this book is lovely and beautifully written; I really liked everything about it, especially the Victorian setting and the gothic and supernatural elements. This is indeed a strangely beautiful tale!

For more information (trailer, excerpts and prologue), please visit Leanna Renee Hieber’s website.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sandy
    Oct 15, 2009 @ 15:34:19

    That book sounds like a perfect read for October, and so totally YOU! No wonder you had to get your hands on it! I loved the trailer!

    Reply

  2. Kristen M.
    Oct 16, 2009 @ 01:00:56

    I’m looking forward to reading this one!

    Reply

  3. Darlene
    Oct 16, 2009 @ 01:07:44

    I saw this at Viv’s site as well. I thought it sounded great and you wrote an awesome review. I really think I need to read this one of these days.

    Reply

  4. Jenny
    Oct 16, 2009 @ 02:02:51

    Sounds great! You always do such wonderful reviews!

    Reply

  5. Leanna Renee Hieber
    Oct 16, 2009 @ 16:37:59

    Andreea,

    Thank you so very much for stopping by my blog and letting me know about your wonderful review! I really appreciate your help in spreading the word about the Strangely Beautiful series, it’s such a dear-to-my-heart project! We’ll make sure Dorchester keeps you on board as the series continues April and October 2010 and onward! Thanks again and blessings!

    Reply

  6. Aarti
    Oct 23, 2009 @ 03:10:06

    Hi Andrea-

    I came across your review of The Girl with Glass Feet at Good Reads. I’m reading that book now, and just wanted to see other people’s general reactions to it. It seems like people either love it or hate it! So far, I’m really enjoying the lyricism of the writing. You wrote an excellent review as well! This book sounds great, too. I think we might have similar reading tastes, so I’ll certainly be back to see more of your blog!

    Reply

  7. Larissa
    Jan 10, 2010 @ 08:40:27

    Great Review! I read and reviewed this book a few days ago… I LOVED it so much! cant wait for Book 2 =)))

    Reply

  8. Trackback: The Darkly Luminous Fight for Persephone Parker by Leanna Renee Hieber « Passionate Booklover
  9. The Book Whisperer
    Sep 22, 2010 @ 20:21:16

    I still haven’t read this book even though I interviewed Leanna on my blog about 8 months ago (she gave some great answers too!). I really need to get round to reading this soon.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

