The Earth Hums In B Flat

I just finished reading The Earth Hums In B Flat by Mari Strachan. I discovered this charming book at Vivienne’s lovely blog, Serendipity, and I am so glad I did, because I loved this book!

The Earth Hums in B Flat tells the story of a curious young girl who lives in a small Welsh village. Every night in her dreams, twelve-year-old Gwenni flies above her village, observing its people and their hidden secrets. One night, she sees something disturbing that she can’t easily forget. The next day, Mr. Evans, the husband of Gwenni’s teacher disappears and the village people start gossiping. There are many rumours going around about the missing man and his family, but Gwenni wants to discover the truth about what really happened. Thus, she plays detective and starts to ask people questions about the man’s whereabouts. However, Gwenni finds out more than she maybe wanted to know and she soon learns that everyone seems to have a secret, even her own family. Moreover, since she has disclosed so many secrets, she now has to deal will the fact that her life will never be the same again!

I really loved this book, since Gwenni is such a sympathetic character. Her own family and other village people think that she is odd, but she is just a curious young girl with a vivid imagination. She is very clever and just tries to understand everything that happens around her. She just wants to understand human behaviour, and therefore, she asks many questions. The people around her don’t like her questions, since they have something to hide and they don’t want their secrets revealed. However, Gwenni doesn’t seem to stop investigating until she has found out everything she needs to know!

The Earth Hums in B Flat is a wonderful and magical novel full of secrets and mysteries. This book is beautifully written and provides us with an intriguing portrait of life in a small Welsh town!

 

 

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sandy
    Sep 03, 2009 @ 16:19:38

    I remember awhile back when this book was getting alot of positive reviews. I’m intrigued!

    Reply

  2. vivienne
    Sep 03, 2009 @ 17:32:17

    I am so pleased you loved it. I was worried you wouldn’t. Don’t know why!

    Reply

  3. Milka
    Sep 03, 2009 @ 17:57:32

    Yep, I really enjoyed my trip. I will post pictures and reviews tomorrow night if nothing big happens. 😀

    Reply

  4. ds
    Sep 03, 2009 @ 19:15:12

    You have certainly piqued my curiosity. The title alone is intriguing. Good job!

    Reply

  5. Baba
    Sep 03, 2009 @ 19:40:22

    Sounds like a charming book! I will have to add it to my “wishlist” of books I want to read.

    Reply

  6. Tina
    Sep 03, 2009 @ 19:57:51

    Such a lovely review. I think I’ll have to read this book! Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

  7. Ceri
    Sep 03, 2009 @ 20:08:40

    This sounds like a nice enough book but, unfortunately, I’ll probably be avoiding this one – I hate Welsh literature. It’s so rare that I actually enjoy something set in Wales.

    My parents are Welsh and, even though I wasn’t born here, I grew up here and have continued to live her for the last 20 years (I’m now 22). There’s so many stereotypes in Welsh literature about the sweet little farming villages and the miners, etc. and it drives me nuts because not too many people in the world know much about Wales and I feel as though the country’s represented through these old-fashioned out-of-date characters when, the truth is, most people just aren’t like that any more.

    Sorry for my mini rant there, hehe. I’m sure everyone faces some sort of stereotype that they hate. I am genuinely glad you did enjoy it though. 🙂 You write a really great review.

    Reply

  8. Jenny
    Sep 03, 2009 @ 23:38:03

    I’m surprised I haven’t heard of this. Sounds good!

    Reply

  9. Melody
    Sep 04, 2009 @ 02:00:36

    Now you’re piqued my curiosity! I’ll have to check out this book! Thanks for the lovely review, Andreea!

    Reply

  10. Andreea
    Sep 04, 2009 @ 07:42:35

    Sandy: Yes, I’ve heard many good things about this book! I just had to read it and I am glad I liked it so much!

    Vivienne: I loved this book! It’s really charming. Thanks for mentioning it on your blog!

    Milka: I’m looking forward to it!

    Ds: Yes, you’re right, the title is indeed intriguing and so is the book.

    Baba: I’m glad you’ll add it to your wishlist! I hope you get to read it!

    Tina: Thanks for stopping by! I am glad you liked the review!

    Ceri: Don’t worry! I must admit that I don’t know much about Wales and Welsh Literature, so I didn’t have any expectations when I started this book. I loved this book because of the main character and the storyline. I understand what you are saying when referring to stereotypes. I was born and raised in Romania and then we moved to Germany when I was eleven. There are many stereotypes about Romania and Germany and sometimes I am angry when I hear people talk nonsense about these countries, even though they’ve never been there!

    Jenny: Yes, it’s a lovely book!

    Melody: Yes, check it out. I think you’ll like it!

    Reply

  11. Milka
    Sep 06, 2009 @ 11:56:00

    Oh, I’ve been to New York City, Boston, Philadelphia,Athens, other places at Greece, a couple of cities at Sweden, and then several places at Finland. 🙂

    Reply

  12. Hazra
    Sep 06, 2009 @ 13:33:17

    Sounds like a sweet little book. The title is intriguing. I’ll look out for this.

    Reply

  13. savidgereads
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 20:33:04

    Yet another book that we most definately agree on. I read this earlier in the year and thought it was a very special book.

    Reply

  14. Rebecca
    Sep 27, 2009 @ 06:34:16

    This book looks great! And another one for the TBR list!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

