Mr. Darcy, Vampyre

Pride and Prejudice is one of my favorite books, so when I heard of Mr. Darcy, Vampyre by Amanda Grange, I knew that I would have to read this book, especially since I also love gothic stories!

Danielle Jackson from Sourcebooks kindly sent me a copy of this engaging book and I must say that I really enjoyed reading it!

Amanda Grange’s Mr. Darcy, Vampyre begins with the marriage of Elizabeth and Mr. Darcy; it is a wonderful October day and Elizabeth believes that she is the happiest woman in England. She can’t wait to become Darcy’s wife and spend the rest of her life with the man she loves. However, Elizabeth doesn’t know that her life will take a dangerous and unexpected turn, just after the wedding.

While embarking on their wedding tour throughout Europe, Elizabeth notices some strange changes in her husband’s behaviour. Darcy seems to be reserved and gloomy, instead of being happy and excited. Moreover, he is refraining from any physical affection, and Elizabeth begins to wonder if she is responsible for his retention. She even begins to think that Darcy might regret their marriage, especially since his relatives were not pleased with their union. However, when she confronts Darcy, he denies all of it and assures her that everything is perfect.

As they travel to wonderful places such as Paris and Venice, strange things begin to happen and Elizabeth cannot enjoy her wedding tour. Darcy’s relations and friends seem just as odd as his own behaviour and Elizabeth is only comforted by the thought of her beloved sister Jane. She writes to her sister, relating the peculiar events that have taken place so far. Elizabeth tells her sister about Darcy’s unnatural behaviour, about her horrifying nightmares and about the sinister places she has seen.

 

While the newlyweds reside at an old, crumbling castle, an axe displayed above a doorway mysteriously falls, missing Darcy only by inches. This incident is seen as a sign, an omen, meaning that Elizabeth will cause Darcy’s death. Other strange events take place and Darcy seems even more aloof and gloomy. That’s when Elizabeth decides to leave Darcy and return to England. She is convinced that Darcy doesn’t love her and that he regrets their marriage; however, what she doesn’t know is the fact that she is in great danger.

Will Darcy be able to rescue his wife and finally tell her his dark secret? And how will Elizabeth react to his disclosure?

If you want to find out if their love is strong enough to overcome everything, then you’ll have to read this captivating Pride and Prejudice sequel! I really liked this book, since it is such a suspenseful story, full of gothic elements, dark secrets and danger! Bestselling author Amanda Grange has done an excellent job creating a dark and gloomy atmosphere throughout the story and I truly recommend this book to everyone out there who loves gothic stories and Pride and Prejudice!

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. vivienne
    Aug 23, 2009 @ 17:01:44

    The more I see this the more I want to read it! I have just finished The Enchanted April after reading your review and I absolutely loved it!

    Reply

  2. Milka
    Aug 23, 2009 @ 17:04:00

    Thanks! I will take pictures and post something about my trip when I come back. 🙂
    I can’t wait to read Mr Darcy Vampyre, I will try to find it from London so I can read it there. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Andreea
    Aug 23, 2009 @ 17:07:30

    Vivienne: I am glad you loved The Enchanted April. It’s such a special book!

    Milka: Yes, it’s a great book for those who love Pride and Prejudice and gothic stories! I hope you’ll enjoy it!

    Reply

  4. Serena (Savvy Verse & Wit)
    Aug 23, 2009 @ 19:09:00

    I adored this book. I think this had the right mix of the classic and the gothic elements.

    Reply

  5. Melody
    Aug 24, 2009 @ 00:20:15

    I love the premise! This book has been onto my wishlist ever since I’ve seen it around in blogland… so many books to buy/read and yet so little time!! 😛

    Reply

  6. Nymeth
    Aug 24, 2009 @ 10:54:15

    With I fist heard of this book I thought that it could either work wonderfully or go horribly wrong 😛 I’m glad to hear it did work!

    Reply

  7. Jenny
    Aug 26, 2009 @ 01:12:16

    I have an award for you here

    Reply

  8. Megan
    Aug 27, 2009 @ 18:42:40

    I loved the scenes set in Venice! They had such a fun, moody quality to them. Unfortunately, this book fell a little flat for me… I guess I just wanted to see some vampire action much sooner. But I’m glad you enjoyed it! 🙂

    Reply

  9. Darlene
    Aug 27, 2009 @ 19:25:44

    I’m glad you liked this one. I did too! I thought it was great and a fun read.

    Reply

  10. Andreea
    Aug 28, 2009 @ 14:13:40

    Megan: Thanks for stopping by! I am sorry you didn’t like the entire book!

    Darlene: Yes, it was a fun read!

    Reply

  11. Milka
    Sep 01, 2009 @ 18:20:23

    I really enjoyed ‘The Reader’ even though I thought that it would be a book I would not like. I will write a review about it later on.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

