The Coral Thief

I discovered The Coral Thief by Rebecca Stott on Library Thing and was immediately attracted by the book’s cover. When I read the synopsis, I knew that I would enjoy reading this book. Therefore, I was very happy when I received a copy from Spiegel & Grau and I just couldn’t wait to read the book!

Rebecca Stott’s second novel, The Coral Thief, is an absorbing mix of philosophy, history, love and suspense; the novel allows the reader to glimpse into the past and takes him on an unforgettable journey full of secrets, danger and mystery! The author has successfully managed to provide us with an intriguing love story and to draw a fascinating portrait of post revolutionary Paris, leaving us with a new understanding of this remarkable and vibrant city!

It is the year 1815 and Napoleon, who has surrendered at Waterloo, is on his way to St. Helena to begin his exile. He leaves behind a tumultuous Paris, flooded with scientists, students and philosophers from all over the world. There to join the forward thinkers and discoverers is Daniel Connor, a young medical student from Edinburgh, who makes his way to the city of Paris to study anatomy. On the coach ride into the city, he meets a mysterious woman who is different from any other woman he had ever met. They talk about philosophical ideas and evolution theories and Daniel is completely fascinated by this beautiful stranger. During the ride, the young student falls asleep and when he awakens, he makes a shocking discovery: his letters of introduction and his gift of valuable coral specimens, which he had been entrusted to bring to Paris, are gone, and so is the mesmerizing woman.

After this incident, Daniel is determined to find his beautiful thief and to recover his lost valuables at all costs. But in this distracting and dangerous city, nothing is quite as it seems and Daniel soon finds himself entangled in a web of lies and dark secrets. As he tracks down the mysterious woman, he discovers that she is in fact a known coral thief, who is hunted by a devious police chief. Nevertheless, Daniel falls in love with this intriguing woman and thus pursues a dangerous path that could cost him everything, even his life. Will the young student find his way out of this deceptive labyrinth or will he risk everything for the woman he loves?

The Coral Thief is such a fascinating and absorbing story and I truly recommend this novel to everyone out there! Rebecca Stott provides us with a captivating love story and skillfully illustrates a mesmerizing Paris full of delusions, suspense and mysteries.

While I was reading this incredible book, I imagined being in Paris along with the charismatic protagonists, chasing them through the historical streets of this fascinating city and witnessing their secrets and deceptions. I didn’t want the book to end and therefore, I was very sad when I finished it.

The Coral Thief is one of the best books I’ve read in 2009, simply because it has everything: a suspenseful plot, an engaging historical setting, and a gripping love story full of secrets and intrigues! I am looking forward to reading other Rebecca Stott novels in the future!

I would like to thank Kristina Miller from Spiegel & Grau for giving me the opportunity to read and review such an exceptional novel!

Note: The book is scheduled for release in September 2009!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jackie (Farm Lane Books)
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 16:43:14

    I haven’t heard of this book before – it sounds really good. Thank you for bringing it to my attention.

    Reply

  2. sagustocox
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 17:03:56

    This sounds fascinating…great review and a new book for me!

    Reply

  3. Milka
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 20:04:51

    Thank you so much! 🙂 I hope I have great time, it is going to be my first time in UK. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Melody
    Aug 21, 2009 @ 00:24:47

    Sounds good to me! I’ll have to check it out!

    Reply

  5. Nymeth
    Aug 21, 2009 @ 20:10:24

    I love the setting! I’m glad to hear you enjoyed it so much.

    Reply

  6. ds
    Aug 22, 2009 @ 21:11:04

    Sounds interesting; will keep an eye out. Thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

