The Day The Falls Stood Still

I requested The Day the Falls Stood Still by Cathy Marie Buchanan on Library Thing because I was once again attracted by the book’s cover. The synopsis also sounded great, so I decided to request it, without ever thinking that I would actually win this book (I am new to Library Thing). Well, I was really surprised to find out that I’ve actually won it! I was very happy and I couldn’t wait to receive the book and read it.

I received the book two days ago and I just couldn’t put it down. It is such a great book and I find it hard to believe that it’s the author’s first novel, simply because the book is so wonderful and well written! Cathy Marie Buchanan has done an excellent job narrating a powerful love story and at the same time providing us with an intriguing historical chronicle!

The Day the Falls Stood Still is a romantic and historical novel set between 1915 and 1923, around the Canadian side of the Niagara Falls. It is the year 1915 and Bess, a 17-year-old girl, has led a life of comfort as a privileged student at a private boarding school. However, when her father, the director of the Niagara Power Company, loses his job and begins drinking, and her beloved sister dies tragically, Bess knows that her life will never be the same again. With her life taking this tragic and unexpected turn, she suddenly has to deal with pain, gossip and poverty. There to help her is Tom, a handsome river man, who shows Bess that she can count on him and who shows her what true love means. Tom is the grandson of a local hero, and just like his grandfather, he has the mystical ability to predict the tempers of the river and the falls. It is this ability however, that puts Bess and Tom’s future at risk.

I don’t want to tell you more about this book, because I think that you should also read it and thus experience this absorbing story yourself! I truly recommend this novel to everyone out there, since this is a captivating love story that will take you on an unforgettable journey! This novel does not only tell the romantic and tragic story of Bess and Tom, but it also allows us to glimpse into the past and thus witness many historical events through the eyes of the protagonists. The Day the Falls Stood Still is a wonderful book about real people struggling with faith, finances and friendships; it’s a novel about people experiencing the meaning of true love, but who, at the same time, have to learn how to cope with loss and pain!

Please check out Jemima’s review of The Day the Falls Stood Still at  The Reading Journey!

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jackie (Farm Lane Books)
    Aug 11, 2009 @ 17:43:08

    This sounds wonderful! I’ve noted down the title and will keep an eye out for it. Great review!

    Reply

  2. Sandy
    Aug 11, 2009 @ 17:56:45

    Jackie is right, it sounds like a nice break from serial murders, which is what I am in the middle of right now (I’m not complaining. I like all that horrible stuff, but will definitely need something more romantic and less torture, bondage and bulemia after I’m finished). I think the cover alone would draw me in…

    Reply

  3. Milka
    Aug 11, 2009 @ 18:55:24

    This one sounds good!
    Thanks, I love the Random Reading Challenge because I have so many TBR books but I never know from where to start.. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Jemima
    Aug 11, 2009 @ 19:32:11

    I know what you mean. It is a great book. I also got an ARC from somewhere or other (can’t remember off hand) and started it a day or two ago. It is so well written and I am really enjoying it. The presentation is lovely too. I haven’t come across such a beautiful book (cover and inside layout) in ages. It would make a nice gift. Anyway, thanks for the review and I will also be writing much the same sentiments in a few days.

    Reply

  5. vivienne
    Aug 11, 2009 @ 19:51:37

    Why does it have to be sooo good, when I can’t get it yet? I really need to learn patience. I shall have to console myself with The Enchanted April to take away with me. I picked it up after reading your review.

    Reply

  6. Darlene
    Aug 11, 2009 @ 20:05:59

    Good for you Andreea! I’ll be reading this one in the next few weeks as well. I’m really taken with the cover on this one.

    Reply

  7. sagustocox
    Aug 11, 2009 @ 21:22:01

    I just received this book in the mail. I can’t wait to get started.

    Reply

  8. Nymeth
    Aug 11, 2009 @ 21:24:34

    Oh, this sounds fantastic! And no wonder the cover immediately got you interested. Also, congratulations on winning it on librarything on your first try!

    Reply

  9. Melody
    Aug 11, 2009 @ 23:56:17

    This one sounds great! I’ll have to look out for this book. Thanks for the lovely review!

    Reply

  10. Andreea
    Aug 12, 2009 @ 08:03:15

    Jackie: Yes, you should definitely read it, it’s a great book:)

    Sandy: Yes, the cover is beautiful, and so is the novel!

    Milka: Yes, I know what you mean. With so many great books out there, it’s really hard to decide what to read next.

    Jemima: I am glad you like the book and I can’t wait to read your review!

    Vivienne: You will love The Enchanted April and you will also like this one:)

    Darlene: I’m glad you will. As I said, it’s a beautiful book, inside and out!

    Sagustocox: Happy reading! I hope you’ll like it!

    Nymeth: Thanks:) Yes, I just love beautiful covers!

    Melody: You’re welcome! You should definitely read it!

    Reply

  11. savidgereads
    Aug 12, 2009 @ 08:06:32

    I am going to have to keep my eyes peeled for this one as it sounds fantatsic. I have to say the cover is wonderful and like you said that can often make you want the book even more.

    Reply

  12. Cathy Marie Buchanan
    Aug 12, 2009 @ 13:55:57

    Wow, Andreea. Thank you for this wonderful review. So glad my book ended up in your hands. Cathy

    Reply

  13. Andreea
    Aug 13, 2009 @ 14:14:33

    Savidgereads: Yes, beautiful covers just attract you and make you want to read the book:)

    Cathy: You’re welcome! Thank you for writing such a wonderful novel. I am very glad that I had the chance to read it! I hope you have a lot of success with your book and the books to come:)

    Reply

  14. Sandy
    Aug 14, 2009 @ 10:43:22

    I have given you an award! Come on over and collect it!

    Reply

  15. diaryofaneccentric
    Aug 21, 2009 @ 14:16:29

    Great review! I just received this one last week, and now I’m really looking forward to reading it.

    –Anna

    Reply

  16. Andreea
    Aug 21, 2009 @ 14:32:14

    Hey Anna, thanks for stopping by. I hope you will enjoy this book as much as I did. It’s a wonderful novel!

    Reply

  17. Cathy Marie Buchanan
    Oct 09, 2009 @ 03:28:56

    Well, Andreea. I am SO glad you won. Thank you for your lovely review of my debt novel.

    —–
    http://cathymariebuchanan.com/
    http://www.facebook.com/pages/Cathy-Marie-Buchanan/99983324209
    http://twitter.com/CathyMBuchanan

    Reply

Leave a Reply

