Three Books And A Thank You

There are so many great books out there and I want to read so many right now, but unfortunately, I can’t purchase them all. It’s hard to decide what to read next, when there are so many wonderful books out there just waiting to be picked up. Still, I finally managed to order three books from Amazon. As I said, it wasn’t easy to decide which books to order, especially since I follow so many awesome book blogs where I find such great reading recommendations. I am always happy to find new interesting books to add to my reading list. I must say that I really enjoy visiting other book blogs as I am eager to find out what other book lovers are reading and recommending.

As you all know, I have just started blogging, so I am still new to this whole blogging world! Still, in this short time, I have discovered so many great book blogs and I’ve “met” a lot of nice people! I’m so happy to be part of this warm and loving book blogging community! That’s why I would like to take the time and thank you all for your kind and encouraging words! Thank you so much for your warm welcome and for being such a supportive group! A special thank you goes out to Sandy from You’ve Gotta Read This. Sandy is such a wonderful person! A few days ago, I stumbled upon her lovely blog and left her a comment. Shortly afterwards, she visited my blog and offered to write about me on her blog and thus introduce me to other book lovers out there! I just couldn’t believe how nice she was. She didn’t even know me, but still, she offered to do this for me. That’s when I realized how friendly and special this whole book blogging community is!

I would also like to thank Darlene, Jemima  and Nymeth! You have actually been the first to visit my blog and since then, you have always come back and have left me such nice comments! On your account, I was able to discover other great book blogs, so thank you very much!

Now, let’s get back to the books I’ve ordered:

1) The Lace Reader by Brunonia Barry  
2) Villette by Charlotte Bronte  
3) The Earth Hums in B Flat by Mari Strachan  

I discovered the last one when I was checking out Vivienne’s Blog and I can’t wait to read the book, since it sounds so interesting! Unfortunately, I’ll have to be patient and wait, since Amazon will only ship the books on the 24th of August. Until then, I’ll have to read something else. So I decided to give E-books a chance. I’ve never read any E-books before, simply because I prefer to read real books. I just love the smell and the feel of paper and I like to collect books. I suppose I just have to give it a try! Desperate times call for desperate measures, right? However, I don’t intend to read any long E-books. I’m planning to read some short pieces and decided to read some works by Virginia Woolf, Edgar Allan Poe, Elizabeth Gaskell, George Eliot and Henry James. I’ve chosen some short stories and novellas, so I am really curious to see if I like them! I will start my E-book experience tomorrow and I will talk about it soon!

 

 

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sagustocox
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 14:23:00

    welcome to book blogging and I just started reading you in my google reader. The Lace Reader is supposed to be fantastic. happy reading.

    Reply

  2. Andreea
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 14:35:57

    Sagustocox: Thanks so much for stopping by! I will visit your blog soon.

    Reply

  3. Sandy
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 14:41:06

    Well you are very welcome! There were people who gave me a boost when I was new, and I believe in paying it forward!

    Wanting more books is just another form of addiction, I believe! It doesn’t matter if you have 2,000 sitting on your shelf, there are always more you need. Once you start getting your name out there, you will be invited to start reviewing books for publishers. They will give you more than you can read if you want it! Also, watch out for giveaways. If you sign up for enough of them, you will win some. I also don’t know what kind of a library you have, and if you are eligible yet for a card (having moved so recently) but it is worth a shot as well!

    Reply

  4. Melissa - Shhh I'm Reading
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 16:12:47

    I found my way here from Sandy and just wanted to stop by and say Hi!

    Reply

  5. ds
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 17:59:52

    “Desperate times call for desperate measures”–hee hee! I’m giggling because I love the juxtaposition of your classic choices with ebook technology. (I prefer the printed page, too). I’m sure you’ll enjoy the choices you’ve made–and imagine the look on Mr. James’s face 😉 Can’t wait to read your impressions!

    Reply

  6. Jemima
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 19:12:22

    Congratulations Andreea. I just read about you and the new baby coming on Sandy’s blog. It was nice to learn a bit more about your background. Which is your first language? What state of America are you living in now?

    You are doing really great with your blog. I am enjoying it. My favorite Henry James at the moment is Portrait of a Lady. I gather you love Turn of the Screw.

    Have you seen the BBC movie/miniseries thing of Elizabeth Gaskell’s North and South? It is great. The musical score is perfect. You can probably borrow it for free at your local library if you are interested.

    Reply

  7. Amy
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 19:53:58

    Hi I am new to blogging too! I have only had a blog for a little more than a month now (I think!) and I’m still getting used to it!
    I feel the same way as you do about books – if I could I would walk out of the bookstore with a pile taller than me! It’s hard to decide what you want to read and narrow your book choices down to 3 or 4 (unless of course you have a favorite author who has recently come out with a new book!)
    I have only read Villette of the books you chose. Anything by Charlotte Bronte or one of her sisters is very much worth readin. I hope you enjoy it! Your other two choices sound very good, particularily “The Earth Hums…” but how can a book set in Wales be bad?!

    Bye for now Andrea!
    Amy

    Reply

  8. Nymeth
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 20:25:31

    You are most welcome, Andreea! It makes me happy that you’re getting such a warm reception 😀

    Good luck with your e-book experiment!

    Reply

  9. Darlene
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 21:31:39

    You’re welcome Andreea! I’m glad you’re enjoying the book blogging community. It will only get better. It’s such a wonderful group of people. I haven’t been as far as Sandy’s blog in my reader but I’m getting there.

    I just hate waiting for books that I order. When I ordrer them I want them right away whether I’ll be reading them right away or not. lol.

    Reply

  10. Melody
    Aug 05, 2009 @ 00:00:58

    Welcome to the bookblogging community, Andreea! And I’m so glad to know you (thanks to Sandy!) 😀

    You’ve got some great books there! I can’t wait to hear your thoughts when you get to them. 🙂

    Reply

  11. Andreea
    Aug 05, 2009 @ 11:27:43

    Sandy: Yes, I think it’s an addiction (without cure). I am spending too much time on Amazon, reading reviews and hoping to discover other interesting books to add to my list:) But it’s such a pleasant addiction:) Thanks for the tips. I have already noticed that other bloggers have giveaways and I have signed up for a few books that sounded interesting!

    Melissa: Hi and thanks for stopping by. I am going to check out your blog soon!

    Ds: Yes, I am curious too and I hope I’ll enjoy this experience!

    Jemima: Thank you very much! I was born in Romania, but my family moved to Germany when I was 11. Now I live in NYC:)
    Portrait of A Lady is great, but I prefer The Turn of The Screw (I love the gothic genre).
    No, I haven’t seen the Elizabeth Gaskell BBC miniseries. Sounds interesting, thanks for mentioning it. I have seen some of the BBC miniseries with Agatha Christie’s Poirot and I just loved them. David Suchet does such a great job portraying my favorite detective and I really enjoy watching him solve the murder mysteries. I am a huge Poirot fan:)

    Amy: Yes, you are right about the Bronte sisters. Their work is just brilliant! I can’t wait to read Villette!

    Nymeth: Thank you, I am looking forward to it:)

    Darlene: Yes, I hate this waiting too. I want to have them as soon as possible. But I must learn to be patient:)

    Melody: Thank you so much for your kind words. I am looking forward to following your blog:)

    Reply

  12. Baba
    Aug 05, 2009 @ 14:17:45

    Andreea,

    I agree with you that there are so many wonderful book blogs aout there. It’s so nice to read about books are reading. I can’t tell you the number of books I have found (that I would not have otherwise discovered) due to book blogs. Thanks also for being kind enough to put my blog in the list of blogs on your site. The book by Mari Strachan sound promising.

    I also agree with your comments regarding e-books. There’s just something about opening up a book for the first time and starting to read it. But, in all fairness, I have not tried it so perhaps I am missing out out something. If you do happen to find a good e-book, please pass it along.

    Instead of buying books you might want to check out Paperbackswap.com. I belong to it and it’s how I have obtained many of the books I have. I think it’s a great site to use to try and swap books with others. There’s also Frugalreader.com. There might be others out there but these are the 2 with which I am most familiar. I’ve had more success with Paperbackswap but that might be because more people belong to that site than Frugalreader so there’s more inventory. I’ve never received a book taht was ina bad condition. In fact, I could swear that some ofthem have never even been opened!

    Keep reading!

    Reply

  13. Andreea
    Aug 05, 2009 @ 14:35:43

    Baba: You’re welcome! As I said, I like to visit other book blogs like yours, get reading recommendations, and thus find new books to add to my list!
    Thanks for mentioning these sites. I haven’t heard of them yet, but I will definitely check them out!

    Reply

  14. vivienne
    Aug 06, 2009 @ 12:33:14

    Thanks for the link. I hope you like The Lace Reader. Once I got into it I really enjoyed it. You are doing a great job here on your blog, it is an interesting read and a lovely site to look at too.

    I am going to have to check out You Gotta Read This now as I think I may be missing something good!

    Reply

  15. Andreea
    Aug 06, 2009 @ 19:02:14

    Vivienne: You’re welcome! Yes, you should definitely check out Sandy’s blog. I like your blog too, as I have found some interesting reading recommendations that way! So thank you!

    Reply

  16. Kristen
    Aug 13, 2009 @ 14:58:23

    I have heard that The Earth Hums in B Flat is marvelous. I have a copy here myself but haven’t read it yet. Welcome to blogging. It can be a lot of fun.

    Reply

  17. Andreea
    Aug 13, 2009 @ 16:36:15

    Kristen: Thanks for stopping by! Yes, blogging is great:)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

