I Capture the Castle

I have just finished reading I Capture the Castle and even though it’s a good book, it was not as charming as I expected it to be. Since I have read so many positive reviews about this novel, I expected it to be as wonderful as The Enchanted April. I suppose my expectations were too high, thus, I was disappointed with this book. As I said before, I Capture the Castle is not a bad book; it has a nice story line and interesting characters. In addition, the author does a great job describing the protagonists and the setting by letting Cassandra record her personal thoughts and observations in her journal. That way, we can witness how she falls in love for the first time and how she deals with it. Furthermore, readers get to know her eccentric family and learn engaging things about the village life and the old English castle.

Many people have compared I Capture the Castle to the novels of Jane Austen, but honestly, I can’t really see why. In my opinion, Cassandra lacks the charm, wit and passion of a Jane Austen heroine. Sure enough, Cassandra is bright and charismatic, but sometimes also very childish and naïve. She tells the story with an honest teen perspective; the reader gets to know every side of her (clever, sad, vulnerable, naïve etc.), and that’s what makes her a realistic and believable character. However, I didn’t like her as much as I liked Jane Austen’s heroines since I find that Cassandra is a shallow character.

Overall, I Capture the Castle is an enjoyable book and even though it’s not one of the best books I’ve ever read, it still attracted me because of its wonderful and romantic setting: the crumbling English castle!

 

 
 

 

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lenore
    Jul 29, 2009 @ 21:31:21

    Hey! My husband’s family lives in Wiesbaden, so I am there quite a bit! Thanks for visiting my blog. Do come back 🙂

    Reply

  2. Andreea
    Jul 30, 2009 @ 08:24:43

    Lenore: Wiesbaden is a nice city:) Sure, I’ll come back. I’ll add you to my blogroll.

    Reply

  3. vivienne
    Jul 30, 2009 @ 10:50:11

    I loved I Capture the Castle, but I did read it during my teens, so maybe it doesn”t get better with age. I loved the simplicity of it. Thanks for stopping by my blog. Congratulations on joining our mad world and I hope you get to make lots of book blogging buddies along your journey.

    Reply

  4. Andreea
    Jul 30, 2009 @ 10:57:45

    Vivienne: Yes, you’re right. If I had read it during my teens, I would have probably liked it. You have a very nice blog, so I’ll add you to my blogroll. Hope to hear from you soon.

    Reply

  5. Sandy
    Jul 30, 2009 @ 15:48:36

    You are right, this one’s reputation preceeds it. I would have rented the book just on all the hype, and often that works against it.

    Reply

  6. Nymeth
    Jul 30, 2009 @ 20:00:08

    I actually read it for the first time last year (at 25) so I’ll have to beg to differ about it working better during one’s teens 😛 Then again, I often still feel like a teen. To each their own, of course! Better luck with your next read 🙂

    Reply

  7. Sandra
    Jul 31, 2009 @ 01:52:44

    I saw the film of this and enjoyed it. I usually find books better than any film made of them. Too bad it disappointed you. But it’s always nice to see an honest review.
    Thank you for visiting Fresh Ink Books. I’ve bookmarked Passionate Booklover (my reader is full) so I can visit again. I wish you every success with your blog.

    Reply

  8. Andreea
    Jul 31, 2009 @ 09:08:30

    Sandra: Thank you so much for stopping by:) I’ll add you to my blogroll and I’ll visit your blog again. Have a nice day.

    Reply

  9. Brittany
    Aug 01, 2009 @ 14:40:57

    Hey Andreea! I just discovered your blog through Sandy’s profile of you at You GOTTA Read This. I’m pretty new to the book blogging world myself, but welcome!

    I just finished I Capture the Castle this month as well. I actually loved the first half of the book, but started agreeing with you by the second half. It was still definitely a good read, but I wanted more about the castle and their unique life than about love angst. 🙂

    Reply

  10. Andreea
    Aug 01, 2009 @ 14:50:24

    Hey Brittany! Thank you for stopping by:) Yes, you are right, the first half of the book was great, but the rest was boring. Well, all in all, it’s still a good read.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

